From 1 April 2021, this website will not be updated.

For the latest local health and care information, visit

Brent, Central London, Ealing, Hammersmith and Fulham, Harrow, Hillingdon, Hounslow, and West London Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) have merged as of 1 April 2021 to form North West London CCG. Brent, Central London, Ealing, Hammersmith and Fulham, Harrow, Hillingdon, Hounslow, and West London Clinical Commissioning Groups is transferring to the new CCG – North West London Clinical Commissioning Group on 1 April 2021. The new Clinical Commissioning Group will become the new data controller.

  • Accessibility A A A
  • Google Translate



North West London Critical Care Network Win Patient Safety Awards

North West London Critical Care Network win Patient Safety in Critical Care & Trauma Patients award at the 2017 Patient Safety Awards.

The winners of the 2017 Patient Safety Awards were announced on 4 July at Manchester Central, Manchester. The awards were a great evening of recognition and celebration for all the organisations demonstrating improved practice and delivery in patient safety.

This year saw fierce competition for these coveted awards with over 550 submissions, of which only 170 made it to the final cut, and from those 21 deserving winners were decided by our expert panel of judges (with an additional 12 projects also receiving a high commendation in their category.) The judges were very impressed with the high standard of this year’s entries, testifying to the clear achievementNorth West London Critical Care Networkhas made in being declared a winner.

NWL Critical Care PSA Win

Shaun Lintern, Senior Patient Safety Correspondent, said:

“The Patient Safety Awards, now in its 9th year, is an annual celebration of the NHS’s fantastic efforts to improve the quality of healthcare. The winning projects are led by dedicated teams or individuals who have made measurable differences to the care their patients receive. Our independent judges, drawn from across the health service, have chosen the very best of the best – a collection of talent that every year helps the NHS continue to be a global leader in safety.

It’s important we remember these teams and projects have been delivered during a time of tremendous pressure when staff are having to work harder and harder while under the shadow of austerity and pay restraint. This is one of the toughest times for the NHS as patient demand and acuity continue rising and there are workforce shortages across all health sectors. In that context the success of each of the winners and shortlisted projects are that much more deserving of our thanks and recognition.”

What the judges said about the Patient Safety in Critical Care & Trauma Patients entry:

"Our winners have taken a complex issue and developed a simple, practical and replicable solution which crosses many boundaries and demonstrates wide spread improvements in patient safety and quality."

A spokesperson for the North West London Critical Care Network said: "The Critical Care Network team is thrilled to have won this award. The strength of the NWLCC Network is the membership and collaboration of front line clinicians and this national recognition of our work, and this award in relation to patient safety and reduction in variation, will help us to continue delivering great results.

"The project has already spread beyond London and we are even hearing of interest from Ireland and Finland. This award will help publicise the Patient Transfer Bag and we hope that many more critically ill patients benefit as a result.”

The awards were sponsored by Healthcare at Home, Macmillan Cancer Support, Becton Dickson, Ridouts, and Virtual College. Click here to find out more about our sponsors.

For more information on the Patient Safety Awards go to or contact Doug Marshall on 020 7608 2333 or